Essential information for end of life vehicle dismantling, depollution and recycling

green parts specialists
Share on email
Share on print
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

CIWM/WAMITAB Operator Competence Scheme Jargon Buster

While at a conference the other month surrounded by dismantlers from various companies, perhaps inevitably the subject of CoTCs became part of the conversation. As the discussion continued it became quite clear that there were varying levels of understanding when it came to the terminology that individuals were using.

With this in mind we asked Sharon Simpson, Project Manager from WAMITAB to provide us with some definitions of the most common terminology to help you navigate your way through what is required.

CIWM/WAMITAB Operator Competence Scheme (sometimes known as a “WAMITAB” or CoTC) is one of two schemes approved by DEFRA and Welsh Government for use in England and Wales; it provides a framework for operators to demonstrate that they hold the required competence to act as the Technically Competent Manager (TCM). According to DEFRA, technical competence to carry out a waste activity requires legal waste operators to:

  • Have ‘sufficient control’ over day-to-day operations to comply with permit conditions. 
  • Know how to operate the necessary equipment.
  • Comply with the law and government policies.
  • Minimise the impact of the activity on people and the environment.

There are two parts to the scheme: Primary Competence and Continuing Competence.

Primary Competence: The vocational qualification, units and/or training programme(s) identified as providing the skills, knowledge and competence required to manage their waste site.

Continuing Competence: Every two years the designated TCM is required to successfully complete the Continuing Competence test. The test covers generic topics: Health and Safety; Environmental Protection and Legislation plus an Activity Specific Test(s) relating to the site activity. 

Technically Competent Manager (TCM): The TCM is the site operator or designated manager and they must hold the appropriate qualification as categorised by the level of risk for the site operations and an up-to-date Continuing Competence certificate.

Risk Tier: The three tiers – High, Medium and Low Risk – allow for different levels of technical competence to be demonstrated proportional to the environmental risk. The Risk Tier table identifies which type of facilities fall within each level making it clear to both operators and regulators what level of competence is required. The Risk Tier Table is on the Operator Competence page on the WAMITAB website and is searchable by keyword, such as your site activity, and/or Standard Rule Permit.

Vocational qualification: A qualification is vocational when it relates directly to the skills, knowledge and understanding required to undertake a specific or broad job role.

Which qualification? In principle, there are two relevant TCM qualifications for vehicle recycling, applicable dependent on the specifics of the site permit: 

  • WAMITAB Level 4 Medium Risk Operator Competence for Physical Treatment (MROC2)
  • WAMITAB Level 4 High Risk Operator Competence for Managing Physical and Chemical Treatment of Hazardous Waste (HROC6)

There are no entry requirements so you do not require any other qualifications or levels of attainment.

MROC2: is a 6-unit vocational qualification for the following site activities: 

  • WEEE ATF – physical treatment 
  • Mobile plant permit for the treatment of asphalt waste containing coal tar 
  • End of Life Vehicle facilities (vehicle storage, depollution and dismantling)

HROC6: is a 12-unit qualification – with two option pathways, covering the following site activities:

  • Hazardous waste treatment 
  • Recovery of Hazardous Waste
  • Recovery of oil / organic solvents
  • Hazardous Waste Disposal (not incineration or landfill)

Unit: The units of a qualification split out specific skill sets and describe what you must be able to do and understand to perform work activities competently in your job role. 

TQT: Total Qualification Time – the minimum amount of hours a typical learner will take to complete the respective qualification includes time with the trainer/assessor and your own study time. 

GLH: Guided Learning Hours – this is the time spent with the trainer/assessor and is incorporated in TQT.

Learning outcomes: Describe what you will know, understand or be able to do as a result of learning.

Assessment criteria: Describe what activities you will need to complete to demonstrate that you have achieved the Learning Outcome.

Assessment:  The MROC2 and HROC6 are assessed “on the job” so you will need to be employed in a suitable position, or have access to the working environment. 

Evidence: You need to collect evidence to prove that you are competent as required by the standards set in the units of the qualification – this could be evidence of work activities, written/verbal reports and/or audio/visual recordings. 

Observation (O): Your assessor will observe you as you carry out tasks activities that occur naturally in the workplace. 

Question and Answer (Q/A): candidate statements, verbal questioning, professional discussion, written questions, product evidence supported by questioning.

Simulation/Realistic working environment (S/R): used to represent situations which rarely occur or are exceptional, eg, to assess response to an emergency/incident. 

Portfolio: This is where you will collect evidence to demonstrate your competence. A portfolio could be either hard-copy or electronic (format to be agreed with the Approved Centre). The evidence held in your portfolio must be your own work, and be clearly referenced to the units of the qualification. 

Assessor:  This is the person you will have the most contact with as you work towards your qualification and is employed by an Approved Centre. The assessor works to assess your competence against the standards set within the qualification. Assessors are qualified and experienced in the subject of the qualification you are registered for, and have the skills to plan and carry out your assessments. They will make judgments of your competence, based on the evidence you provide, and give you feedback.

Approved Centre: Only providers that have met WAMITAB’s strict quality standards are approved to deliver WAMITAB qualifications; this could include private training companies and/or Colleges of Further Education.

To find out more please visit the WAMITAB website here

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
Share on email
Share on print
adam hewitt ltd

More News

Adam Hewitt

ATF Professional LLP is registered in England and Wales with Partnership number OC418339

The views and opinions expressed on ATF Professional are solely those of the original authors and other contributors. These views and opinions do not necessarily represent those of the editor, publisher or staff of ATF Professional.



01432 355099

© All rights reserved