Essential information for end of life vehicle dismantling, depollution and recycling

Share on email
Share on print
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

MOT test’s new failure categories

MOT test

From 20th May MOT tests face changes. Tougher diesel emissions tests and new failure categories are among them. The new categories of failure include: ‘Dangerous’ and ‘Major’ which will result in an MOT fail and ‘Minor’ which is similar to the current ‘advisory status. 


A further significant change which will occur will be tighter limits for diesel emissions for the benefit of air quality improvement. This change will focus on missing or tampered diesel particulate filters.

Other checks will focus on aspects of lighting and fluid leaks.

Neil Barlow, Head of MOT Policy, said: “DVSA’s priority is to help you keep your vehicle safe to drive.”

“The MOT test ensures that vehicles meet the legal roadworthiness standards. The changes which take effect from 20 May 2018 will help make sure vehicles are safer and cleaner. We expect that there may be a slight initial increase in the failure rate for vehicles where the new standards pick up underlying defects. But we do not expect a long term impact and therefore no significant effect on failures.”

 Time will tell in the impact of these changes. 

To see the draft MOT inspection manual click here

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on google
Share on email
Share on print
AutoDrain M

More News

Adam Hewitt

ATF Professional LLP is registered in England and Wales with Partnership number OC418339

Registered office: 27 Old Gloucester Street, London WC1N 3AX

The views and opinions expressed on ATF Professional are solely those of the original authors and other contributors. These views and opinions do not necessarily represent those of the editor, publisher or staff of ATF Professional.



01432 355099

© All rights reserved